Matt’s Weekly Film Recommendation(s)

Hello there! You may have noticed I’m a little late to the blog with this feature, truth be told I was waiting until we came up with a snappy title for these weekly snippets but guess what? never happened! So this week you’re getting not one but two movie recommendations from me.

First up is “Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close” (which incidentally are my in-studio nicknames for Bram & Liam) based on the novel by Jonathan Safran Foer, directed by Stephen Daldry (Billy Elliot, The Hours) and screenplay by Eric Roth (Forrest Gump, The Curious Case of Benjamin Button)

When this feature was first thrown on the table we were about 20 seconds away from going on mic and I plucked this film out of the air and… lets not pretend there weren’t some disapproving sighs in the booth. I don’t pretend to be a film expert but the chances are that some of you don’t either and if I enjoyed this film then maybe you will too, and I did enjoy this film.

When I came upon “Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close” I was completely unaware of the namesake novel, the award nominations or any of the seemingly abundant criticism – not that any of those things often sway my choice of film anyway, but I sat down to it with an open mind and felt rewarded for doing so.

You can probably grasp a general synopsis of the plot from the trailer, so I won’t discuss it at length but if nothing else you must see this film for the performance of Thomas Horn who portrays autistic protaganist Oskar beautifully and far beyond his years.

Check out Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close on Rotten Tomatoes 
Check out Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close on IMDB

My second pick is something completely different and comes in the form of “Streets of Fire” from 1984.

Co-written and directed by Walther Hill, the man that brought us such 80s classics as 48 Hrs, Brewster’s Millions, and Red Heat – not to mention writing credits on Aliens and The Warriors, you are probably building a pretty strong picture of what this movie is all about. Now, the reason I’m recommending Streets of Fire is that despite Hill’s familiar oeuvre, this particular title escaped me for a good many years and perhaps you too are in this unenviable situation and I can help put it right.

The plot is simple: boy meets girl, girl is kidnapped by nefarious biker gang fronted by a young Willem Dafoe, boy employs girl’s ne’er-do-well ex-boyfriend to go vigilante and retrieve girl from the jaws of danger, all set to a power ballad soundtrack. Brilliance ensues.
You may have gathered over the course of this blurb that this is hardly Shakespeare, but whilst I spent most of the movie laughing and shaking my head – it instantly secured a position in my favourites for all the wrong reasons. I urge you to give it a look and join the cult following of this rock n’ roll fable.

Check out Streets of Fire on Rotten Tomatoes
Check out Streets of Fire on IMDB

Matt Bee.

Leave a Reply

